Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CPU of my usual desktop PC may not have TIM
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 973
Scott, I bought the desktop PC I usually use in July of 2011. It has this motherboard installed. There's an AMD Phemon II X4 CPU installed that runs at 3.2 GHz. No offense, but the person who put the system together may not have utilized TIM between the heat sink and the CPU. I seemed to notice in 2013 that there was no TIM between the heat sink and the CPU. I can't say that I recall seeing any TIM residue on the CPU. I don't feel like opening my system up right now to confirm that there's no TIM involved. In any case, it's 2016 now, and the system in question seems to run OK. Scott, do you think a possible lack of TIM would hurt the system that much? (This link is worth checking out.) Also, does the gentleman in this video use proper procedure when it comes to cleaning TIM off of a CPU?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CPU of my usual desktop PC may not have TIM
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5855
Without Thermal Interface Material (TIM) the CPU would almost certainly overheat. This might not cause damage but would very likely cause the CPU to throttle down as the temperatures get too high. The result would be a PC running well below normal speed. I recommend removing TIM using alcohol and a lint-free cloth. Cotton swabs should not be used as they can leave conductive lint residue on the motherboard or other components. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CPU of my usual desktop PC may not have TIM
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 973
Scott, when it comes to checking whether or not my CPU is overheating, what method do you particularly recommend? Also, is there a brand of TIM that you particularly recommend in this day and age?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CPU of my usual desktop PC may not have TIM
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:59 am
Posts: 429
HWMonitor

Arctic Silver


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron