Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
Scott, my old Belkin UPS is having problems with cable. I mentioned it before on here. The socket or plug on the back of the UPS is loose or something so I have to unplug and replug it a lot.

Anyway the thing is over 10 years old I'm guessing. So do you have a recommendations on brands?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
I did the survey where it asks you about your equipment on the APC site and it suggested This UPS. However it also put, This in my cart. I don't know why. Don't really want to spend close to $400 on a UPS.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6071
I would recommend the least expensive UPS offered by either Costco or Sam's Club. That's what I've been using and it has worked out well for me. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
I talked with an APC rep today and based on my current pc and things connected to it they told me This one. I asked about a smaller one and they said it would be fine as long as my PC didn't draw the full amount of power provided by the PSU while the pc and other items are connected to it. I don't think that ever happens...


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
Found it pretty cheap Here. Not a bad deal.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
That place has some pretty bad reviews. Maybe I'll see if I can get Newegg.com to price match it.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
It was the same price anyway because Provantage didn't offer free shipping. Chatted with customer support for Newegg and they offered me $10 off...


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
This one is much cheaper. What do you think?. I mean as far as my pc drawing the total amount of power the PSU is rated for, that's insane, isn't it?.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
I purchased the cheaper one.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6071
That's what I would have done. Let me know how it works out. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
I'll let you know. Also I still got the $10 off.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
Using it now. Seems to work well so far. I had to give up one of my monitors to a surge protector only outlet so I could keep my Cable modem, Gigabit switch, and Dlink router plugged into the surge plus battery backup outlets. The USB connection is kind of strange because the part that plugs into the back of the UPS looks like an RJ45 connector and the other side is a normal USB Type A connector.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
I will be putting this APC UPS on my wifes old PC and getting a different one for myself. APC hasn't updated their PowerChute UPS software since 2012. That tells me how much they care about it. Usually I'll check this sort of thing because I don't like using companies that don't update their software regularly. The APC software won't install on Windows 10 without downloading and installing an old outdated version(2.0) out the .Net framework. I'm not doing that. The point is, if they haven't bothered to update their software since 2012 then they really couldn't care less about the customers.

I've checked out Cyberpower and have The CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD in my Amazon favorites. I have a bit of credit in my Amazon account so I can use it towards that. I checked out their software and they just updated it last month. My wife needs an updated UPS anyway so she can have the APC. She loves her old Windows 7 pc anyway.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
FatGuy wrote:
Using it now. Seems to work well so far. I had to give up one of my monitors to a surge protector only outlet so I could keep my Cable modem, Gigabit switch, and Dlink router plugged into the surge plus battery backup outlets. The USB connection is kind of strange because the part that plugs into the back of the UPS looks like an RJ45 connector and the other side is a normal USB Type A connector.



Fixing this problem with this item that I have ordered.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
FatGuy wrote:
I will be putting this APC UPS on my wifes old PC and getting a different one for myself. APC hasn't updated their PowerChute UPS software since 2012. That tells me how much they care about it. Usually I'll check this sort of thing because I don't like using companies that don't update their software regularly. The APC software won't install on Windows 10 without downloading and installing an old outdated version(2.0) out the .Net framework. I'm not doing that. The point is, if they haven't bothered to update their software since 2012 then they really couldn't care less about the customers.

I've checked out Cyberpower and have The CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD in my Amazon favorites. I have a bit of credit in my Amazon account so I can use it towards that. I checked out their software and they just updated it last month. My wife needs an updated UPS anyway so she can have the APC. She loves her old Windows 7 pc anyway.


Still have not had the money to order the new UPS. Wish I could get some of the money back for this thing. I mean I could consider it "defective" since I'm not able to get the full features running it without the software on Windows 10. Hey, if I spend over $100 on a UPS you better believe that I want all the features available and software that's updated regularly. In my opinion that's not unreasonable.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
Well I did get the CyberPower UPS a while back and moved the APC to my wifes old PC. I installed the software but found out it disables windows power management, so I disabled it. So APC software is really garbage. The Cyberpower software works fine with Windows but has a pretty small bug. Cyberpower is a much better company though and I've talked with their support and they are actively working on the issue. They do keep their software up to date, unlike APC. Currently I'm just using windows to manage the ups and everything is fine. I won't purchase another APC though. When I get another UPS it's going to be a Cyberpower.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: UPS brand
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1742
The small but annoying bug in Cyperpower Personal edition software has really gotten to me. A few weeks back they released a new version of the software but it didn't fix the problem. I seem to remember around 12 years ago when I had the Belkin UPS, their software "Belkin Bulldog" had problems also. It seems that all ups software from manufacturers has problems that the companies really don't put much effort into fixing. Cyberpower is at least trying though so I'll give them that. APC is a joke in that regard. I don't think I'll even bother with the software for a UPS anymore. There really doesn't seem to be much benefit to using it anyway.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron