Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Laptop Hardware




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 287
I thought that I read somewhere that the new cpu now are at 4ghz or 5ghz now. Which cpu are they.


In the T420 what size hard drive that fit in it is it a 2.5 or is it smaller then a 2.5 inch drive.

I'm looking in to upgrading this hard drive to the SSD drive. and max out the memory 16gb with the fastest memory i can find at best buy.


On this T420 where is the Bluetooth card at?

I see that there are driver for it but I can't get the Bluetooth to work. It would be nice to be able to download photo from my cell phone to my computer and also be able to use a Bluetooth speaker.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5790
spiderman wrote:
I thought that I read somewhere that the new cpu now are at 4ghz or 5ghz now. Which cpu are they.

Commercially available desktop processors are available at 4GHz and faster: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... erSearch=1

Quote:
In the T420 what size hard drive that fit in it is it a 2.5 or is it smaller then a 2.5 inch drive.

It would fit a 2.5" drive that is 9.5mm (or less) in height.

Quote:
On this T420 where is the Bluetooth card at?

One of the biggest advantages of a ThinkPad is that Lenovo produces detailed service manuals that list every part and how to completely disassemble and reassemble the unit. That manual has the answer.

Quote:
I see that there are driver for it but I can't get the Bluetooth to work.

Make sure the Bluetooth module is installed, enabled in the BIOS Setup, turned on via the Hotkey Features Integration software, and you have the latest drivers installed. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 287
Quote:
Make sure the Bluetooth module is installed, enabled in the BIOS Setup, turned on via the Hotkey Features Integration software, and you have the latest drivers installed. Scott.




I don't see where in the bios setup to turn on the via the hotkey features integration software. I have the newest bios installed I still can't see where that bluetooth module where it is installed at on here if there is one on here. In the bios setup I don't see anything that said bluetooth enabled or disable.

thanks.
spiderman.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5790
spiderman wrote:
In the bios setup I don't see anything that said bluetooth enabled or disable.

You should see it under Security; I/O Port Access:

Image

Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 287
Scott wrote:
spiderman wrote:
In the bios setup I don't see anything that said bluetooth enabled or disable.

You should see it under Security; I/O Port Access:

Image

Scott.



Nope I don't see it there and mine is not that long. is there something wrong with my computer

I don't see the microphone wireless I do see the fingerprint reader and the usb and a few other missing like the webcam etc


never mine I found it and the bluetooth is enable i found everything else and you show above thanks. So does this mean that the bluetooth module is install on my computer?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: have the cpu speed now to
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5790
spiderman wrote:
Nope I don't see it there and mine is not that long.

According to p.189-190 in the T420 User Guide you should see exactly the same items on that BIOS Setup page as shown in the pic above.

Quote:
...is there something wrong with my computer

There might be if you have the latest BIOS installed and don't see the full list. Perhaps the system doesn't support Bluetooth or any of the other items missing from that page? Does your T420 have a Bluetooth status light (middle light in section 1 pictured below)?:

Image

If you have the Bluetooth status light and it is off then either the module is not installed, not enabled in the BIOS Setup and/or not turned on via the ThinkPad Hotkey Features software (Alt-F5 brings up the radio controls). There is one other possibility, some ThinkPads (including the T420) have a physical master radio switch that when turned OFF will disable all wireless devices instantly. On the T420 it is #6 in the picture below, make sure it is ON:

Image

Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Laptop Hardware


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron