Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Laptop Hardware




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Hi Scott,

I have a ThinkPad which comes with both an Ethernet adapter and a dial-up adapter. Since I don't use dial-up, is there any benefit to Windows if I disable the modem in device manager? (I can always re-enable if I ever need it).


Thanks!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
If you truly aren't *ever* going to use the modem, then the best way to proceed would be to disable it in the BIOS Setup, then go into Device Manager, set it to show hidden devices, and then uninstall the modem driver.

However, note that the ThinkPad modem driver also installs NetWaiting and Digital Line Detect (I believe those are placed in the Startup folder), which are two background processes that I remove by default, even though do leave the modem itself enabled (I use it from time to time when traveling). Removing those unnecessary applications will decrease boot times, reduce the number of processes running, and increase the amount of available memory.

If you do disable the modem and uninstall the driver, you might still have to manually remove or uninstall the NetWaiting and Digital Line Detect programs. Let me know if that is the case or not... Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Hi Scott,

thanks for the reply. As far as I can tell, there is no option in the BIOS to disable the modem. What I did was uninstall the ThinkPad Modem software which also uninstalled the two services and then just disabled the modem in device manager. I tried uninstalling the modem but apparently it is just temporarily removed until the next reboot when it is re-detected and re-enabled with the Microsoft "ThinkPad Modem" generic driver.

If you happen to know if the modem is hidden in the bios somewhere, please let me know. The only other devices I have disabled in the BIOS are the serial and parallel ports (even though my ThinkPad doesn't have these ports -- well at least not externally).

-Paul


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
You didn't say which ThinkPad you have, but for example in my R60, the Modem configuration is the 3rd item listed under the "Config" menu: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-65602

I see that might not be found in the T61 for example: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-69927

You might try running the ThinkPad Configuration program, on all of the ThinkPads I've used it shows an option on the right hand side for enabling or disabling the internal modem.

If you can't disable it in hardware, then you won't really be able to unload the drivers, and disabling it in device manager won't make much of a difference. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Ah sorry, just assumed that most ThinkPads would be the same with regard to the BIOS. Yes, I have a T61 which would explain why I couldn't find the modem option.

I'll try the ThinkPad Configuration program (if I can find it). Thanks again!

Also thanks for those BIOS simulator pages. I'm still unsure what some of the options do. Is there a detailed description somewhere of each option?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
Descriptions are in the help for each setting, or in my book, or in the chipset docs, since they are normally chipset dependent. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Thanks Scott.

BTW I am unable to find the Configuration utilty you mention. If it's something that is pre-loaded on the system then I'm out of luck as I already clean installed wiping out the Think utilities.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
You can download it from Lenovo, along with just about anything else that came on the system. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
OK I give up. I cannot find this utility anywhere. Is this it...http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67254 ?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
That's not it.

Search for "thinkpad configuration xp": http://search.lenovo.com/search/?q=thin ... uration+xp

This is the first thing that comes up: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... IGR-4ZFRG3

Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
It doesn't look like it supports the T61 (up to T60), I'll give it a try though. Oh and I am using Vista as I didn't feel like splurging for another XP licence. Thank you!!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
You didn't indicate which OS, unfortunately the ThinkPad Configuration Utility doesn't work on Vista. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
DRAT! Oh well. Thanks anyway.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Scott wrote:
I see that might not be found in the T61 for example: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-69927


Hi Scott, the modem setting is hidden under the Security, I/O Port Access submenu.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6100
There you go. I guess they decided to consolidate all of those external connection settings there in the latest systems. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disable dial-up modem?
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
I could have sworn that I looked everywhere, maybe I didn't think the modem would ever be in the "Security" area. Oh well.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Laptop Hardware


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron