Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Remote Access
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Hello Scott and others :)

I have never in all my years set up a remote access system for a customer! :oops: :oops: :oops: So of course now I have been asked to do an install!

The "Server" PC (XPP32) needs to be accessed via the Internet remotely for the Customers accountant, so that her Laptop (OS unknown but assume client version of Windows) can read data off the screen

I know that Windows uses remote desktop connection but is that available in Home editions (If her Laptop uses a home edition OS)

If not what is the best (and easiest) Software to use for this?

Thanks for help in advance, did you see I left a review of U&R 19th on Amazon.co.uk?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews ... ddFiveStar


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remote Access
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5878
I recommend using Windows Remote Desktop Connection. While the host (computer you are connecting TO) must have a "professional" version of Windows, the client (computer you are connecting FROM) can be any version/edition of Windows from Win95 to Win7. I use RDC all the time to manage my own servers, in fact I even use it locally as they don't have keyboards or displays.

When using RDC over the internet, you will have to open a port on the router, and will logon to the remote computer using the IP address instead of the name. There is a good tutorial here. Scott.

PS: Thanks for the great review!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remote Access
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Hello Scott, thank you for swift reply!

Frustratingly I cant get it to work over the internet

I have forward the 3389 port to my test server with RDC enabled on the 192.168.0.11 server and RDC on an XP Home test Client machine.

RDC does work If I specify 192.168.0.11 but does not work if I choose suffolkcomputing.dyndns.org or 78.33.184.181 in the connection menu.

I CAN ping suffolkcomputing.dyndns.org from both machines as the tutorial mentions.

My router has a dynamic DNS server (Netgear DG834G) and have tried using it on and off

Obviously something is blocking it but no idea what!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remote Access
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
************* Update ****************

Fixed it

Netgear Routers can be "funny" with port forwarding settings after checking the settings carefully and resetting router my test rig works ok! Sorry to have wasted time but was panicking because of tomorrows install.

Now tomorrow I have to do the Real thing Gulp!


Wish me luck

p.s saw a PC today where the North-bridge heat-sink had fallen off! That PC is well past it's useful life hopefully will supplying a replacement for them :)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron