Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XP install - floppy drive error
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:00 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Connecticut
Unfortunately, for the PCs that don't have floppy drives, XP won't run. I've tried several times to throw XP Professional onto my Dell Inspiron laptop, and XP won't take. I keep getting a "Floppy Drive not Detected" error, which stops the installation dead in its tracks. Not sure if there's a way around it. Anyone know of a way to sneak past the floppy drive portion of the XP install?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XP install - floppy drive error
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5898
XP installs and runs with no problem on systems lacking floppy drives. If you can provide more information, we might be able to figure out what is causing the problem. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XP install - floppy drive error
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:00 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Connecticut
Specifically, what other information do you need?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XP install - floppy drive error
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5898
For Dell systems I expect one to include the Service Tag number at a minimum. Also please include a detailed description of exactly what install disc you are using (OS Edition, Version, Service Pack level, anything else you can add). Is this a Dell product recovery disc (which Dell will provide for free if you lost it) or a standard Retail, OEM or Upgrade disc? If the latter, what happens if you try a Dell recovery disc? Is the disc a Genuine original from Dell/Microsoft, or a copy thereof? If the latter, what happens when you try an original? Have you tested the system to be sure that the hardware such as the RAM, ODD, HDD, etc. is in fact functional? If not, what happens when you do? If you can think of anything else to add, please do. Thanks, Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: