Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
looked at a job sheet today, apparently it takes four hours just to start the thing!!

Not much of a post I know, but had to share!

Will let you know what's holding it up so long in due course, maybe the disk is running in a FDD emulation mode?!

One thing I do know is that it won't take 4 hours to do just about *anything* after I have thrown it out the window, (I mean fixed It!)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5851
Quote:
...apparently it takes four hours just to start the thing!!

Wow, that's only 8 times longer than it takes an 8MHz 486!

Quote:
Will let you know what's holding it up so long in due course...

I already know. Can you say "Malware"? <g>


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Well if there is 4 hours worth of Malware on it I want to plug into your 50 meg+ connection and keep myself in work for a few years! :shock: :lol:

I must sleep now, 4:30 am here, but will try and get pics if time allows, and if the customer insists on showing me the whole four hours you will see a special news report tomorrow...

Oh and whilst on another job I connected a EPSON BX305 Wireless PSC with fax, when sending the fax the router would cut out, causing the wireless to fail, causing the fax to fail, all because the fax was plugged in the wrong side of the ADSL Filter!

Now I tried to plug the fax and telephone in the correct side of the filter, but only one plug!!

So luckily I used the RJ-11 to BT cable to connect the Fax and used the line port on the fax to connect the phone, meaning the fax donated it's supplied cable to get the phone working, and the Phone donated it's cable to get the Fax, itself and the Router working properly!

and it's the Red wire to defuse bo... ****BANG***


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Turns out it does not seem to be Malware, yet still takes a looong time to boot, I went the customers today and was already loaded (they turned it on at lunch time!)

Came up clean with Rkill and Malware bytes, Going to check the Disk for physical errors and I now think it is probably clashing with a boot up driver, safe mode takes a very long time to load also!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5851
Without knowing exactly what type of system it is (links please <g>), I'll take a shot in the dark and start by recommending you clear/reset the CMOS RAM, which should restore proper default drive/interface configuration settings (among other things). Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
I should know better!

System is a Medion MD8830

I don't think CMOS settings are to blame, but well worth a shot, need to blow the dustout first! :)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5851
Try replacing the HDD SATA cable, as a bad cable can also cause this type of problem. Also check the motherboard for any bulged or leaking capacitors. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Thank Scott, will do more later


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
This might have something to do with it, this is on a different machine/cable!

Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:50 am
Posts: 508
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
http://support.wdc.com/techinfo/general/errorcodes.asp

It sounds like it timed out. I was surprised you didn't get any error code. Was this the Windows or DOS based DLGDIAG?

Hopefully you backed up their drive.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 4 Hour Startup!
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Was on Windows DLG, I have successfully (bar one sector) cloned the drive on to another, all seems well, yet of course I wish I knew what the sector contained so I can recover from the Customer's backup....

If they have one!

Odd thing is that Chkdsk (both mine and the customer's machine, different cables) did not find a single error!

There was a Found.000 folder on the disk and normally when I see that I war my customers up to the worst case scenario...


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron