Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: System Health Report Error Win 7
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:27 pm
Posts: 21
Hi Scott Every time I try to run the system health report I get the following error

The wait for the report generation tool to finish has timed out. This is on WIN 7 Ultimate 64 bit Can you help me with this warm regards, Ron Hudak


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: System Health Report Error Win 7
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5851
I have a few questions:

  • Has Service Pack 1 been installed? What about all other updates since?
  • Has the problem always occurred, in other words have you ever successfully run a health report?
  • If the previous answer is yes, then when was the report last run successfully, and more importantly what has changed on the system since then? What happens if you undo those changes?
  • What happens when disable or uninstall any anti-malware or 3rd party firewall/security software?
  • I've seen problems where the system accumulates too many older reports, what happens when you delete the \Perflogs folder?

If none of this helps, you might want to try a clean install. For example, I've heard of this being a common problem if Windows 7 was installed as an upgrade over Vista. Let me know what you find, Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: System Health Report Error Win 7
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:27 pm
Posts: 21
Hi Scott Service Pack 1 has been installed and all other updates since then. This is the first time I have tried to run the system health report. I tried un-installing Malwarebytes Anti- Malware and paused Kaspersky Internet Security and the\Perflogs folder is empty and I still get the same error message. When I installed Win 7 it was a clean install not an upgrade. This really isn't a big problem because I can still run Lenovo's System Health & Diagnostics but it just bugs me when some thing doesn't work the way it should. Much thanks for your help and time. warm regards, Ron


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron