Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 1:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Any idea why when I right-click on say...anything...there is no window like usual? Yes, I plan to do a re-install, but does anyone know what system call isn't working here?

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6035
What happens when you try a different pointing device? Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Tried a wireless mouse vs the touchpad. Same results, but my first statement should be revised. On this machine, I'm running Vista. If I click on the start orb and the righ-click on the "computer" entry I get the expected window (general info and info regarding my system rating). Where I noticed the problem was when I brought up the Network and Sharing Center window via the taskbar. After selecting "Manage Network Connections" on the left side of the window (under "Tasks") this brings up "Control Panel->Network Connections (as expected). When I try to right-click on my wireless adapter and choose properties from the context menu I do not get the expected window. I get nothing. The same happens regardless of using the touchpad or the wireless mouse.

Any ideas?

I know I re-install will fix this but I thought this might be helpful to other readers trying to troubleshoot.

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6035
What was the last thing done to or on the system before the problem occurred? Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
On a complex and fully loaded system recently, the Dropbox context menu would not come up, seems to be a fault even have a short FAQ on the issue https://www.dropbox.com/help/72/en

Point is it would be good to have way to repair the context menu, or even just to learn a little more about it


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Scott wrote:
What was the last thing done to or on the system before the problem occurred? Scott.
Other than my children getting a hold of it...nothing that I did out of the ordinary. I haven't installed anything or made any hardware changes. Lately I've put the computer to sleep. The last reboot asked for a Chkdsk (dirty bit flag I assume) and found all sorts of things to fix. I watched it but haven't reviewed the log.

David McMahon wrote:
...even have a short FAQ on the issue https://www.dropbox.com/help/72/en
Are you sure that link is correct? I didn't see anything about hte Cotext Menu.

Also, printing and MS updates seem to be lost and I've reset the services to their default for this system.

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Evan wrote:
Are you sure that link is correct? I didn't see anything about hte Cotext Menu.

Also, printing and MS updates seem to be lost and I've reset the services to their default for this system.

Evan


Was specific to Dropbox, but considered a tool or method to reset the entire context menu, I can imagine it gets corrupted by the likes of Winzip, Dropbox and others


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Right Click: Properties
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
When I followed that link it basically just said to uninstall and reinstall. That is why I was asking.

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron