Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 14
Hi
I had an IP address problem that was cured by reloading Panda. I had about 3 to 4 days of error free connection to the internet and then it has been a case of work for a few hours and then refuse to connect until completing a re start when it works again for a few hours and then drops out.I have tried lots of possible fixes but none have lasted as a fix. Typically it will fail when trying to connect to internet at some point in time or, when trying to move to a different page when already connected to the internet.
Most of the time there is a page stating the fault with a box to find the problem. This usually ends with network diagnostics saying that I should restart the router. Tried that a couple of times with no success but in any case if I try my laptop (wireless) it always connects but it is a slow machine anyway. Also my “smart” tv always connects quickly (via a mains /router connection device, works well). So, probably not the router. Trying Ethernet status says that there is no problem . A couple of times I have had “a problem is presenting the trouble shooter from starting" and this may give 0x80070426/0057.
I have tried the ping function when it is not working and it returns a non connection. I have also tried “fixes” suggested in windows 8 inside out book with no luck except that probably dns is ok.
Any help welcomed


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6114
What happens when you use alternative browsers such as FireFox or Chrome? Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 14
I loaded and tried Firefox as a test item and when explorer 11 fails to connect Firefox cannot connect either.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 468
penny wrote:
I loaded and tried Firefox as a test item and when explorer 11 fails to connect Firefox cannot connect either.



what is the webiste that you are trying to load penny?

That error code I think its a windows Activation error.

What you could try is a clean install of windows and that should fix it.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 6114
It sounds like it could be a problem with your security software (try disabling it) or possibly a problem with the Microsoft Accound Sign-in Assistant as described here. If that doesn't help and you had malware problems in the past it might be time for a reload. Let me know what you find, Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: windows 8.1 internet explorer 11 loosing connection
 Post Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 5:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 14
thanks chaps
Spiderman it can fault out at any time when connected via explorer to x or firefox to x. Sometimes I can get a few hours error free and other times only a few mins. The error codes are very rare, 2 times in the last few days. Normally I get internet explore cannot connect to the internet and if I follow the suggested process it ends up with "switch off the router" ete etc. Going to network connections at this point - Ethernet network - (realtekPC1e GBE) - Ethernet status gives IPv4 connections - internet and IPv6 gives no network access - "details" looks normal? and diagnostics says" trouble shooter couldn't identify a problem. Devise manager says that the realtek driver is up to date and there are no problems. I shall try scotts options but I think I did try Panda security disabled once.
tks for now


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron