Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Does anyone knows how to get Microsoft works to print more then one copy. I have the version 8.5 and a laser printer it is a canon imageclass D420 and I have the newest driver and I try everything that I could find on google.

If you have this laser printer and you are able to print more then one copy then reply and scott if you know how to fix this please reply too thanks.

I can print more then one copies from notpad wordpad and so on and even open office witch i hate. I also know that it could be a bug in microsoft works to after 4.0.

I have windows vista home.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
In the D420 Basic Operation Guide on page 4-5 you will see that there are 2 places to specify the number of copies you want to print. The first is in Windows (step 3 on that page), the second is within the printer driver Page Setup window (step 4 on that page). What happens when you change the number of copies in the printer driver Page Setup window? Scott.


Attachments:
pr-pdl_S003_00 (Small).gif
pr-pdl_S003_00 (Small).gif [ 53.42 KiB | Viewed 13684 times ]
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
it does the same prints out one copy.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 7:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
It might be a bug in the drivers. I'd check to see if you have the latest drivers installed. If the problem persists after that try installing the Printer on another system to see if it works properly or not. If not then that would almost confirm a driver problem and you would need to take it up with Canon. If it works properly on another system then something other than the driver is causing the problem in the first system. Let me know what you find, Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
like I said before scott. I can make copies from other word processors like word pad notpade openoffice. But not in Microsoft works word processor.

and i'm not talking about microsft word. I'm talking about microsoft works word processor. and I have the lastest driver for it.

So could it be a bug in microsoft works word processor.


i hope this clear it up some. Because I don't think its the driver.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
spiderman wrote:
Does anyone knows how to get Microsoft works to print more then one copy. I have the version 8.5...

I noticed that is an older version, the latest is version 9.0. I would install the latest version to see if the problem may have been solved. You might also consider switching to LibreOffice, which has been significantly updated since it was forked from OpenOffice in 2010. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Scott wrote:
spiderman wrote:
Does anyone knows how to get Microsoft works to print more then one copy. I have the version 8.5...

I noticed that is an older version, the latest is quote]



I'm not sure how to get microsoft works 9.0. It seems that microsoft never fix that bug from version 4.0 to 9.0 there been people having the same problem only able to print out one page at a time it just don't mater how many copys you put in the copies box or in the driver it justs print only one copy. I understand that microsoft works don't come on newer computers anymore. and i don't see it in the store the 9.0 or newer.

So I guess the Microsoft work word processor has a printer bug of some sort.

oh will i guess.

I have an hp printer too and in the microsoft works word processor it only prints one at a time it don't matter how many i put in the copies box or in the driver it prints one copy at a time.

but i can print in notpade wordpad openoffice etc even in the adobe pdf reader so what gives. hmmm no wonder windows 8.0 sucks. come from long road of bad software from microsoft. bad bad bad........... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm maybe its time to step it up and start using android o/s from google. I alos saw that micosoft is going to released 8.2 as a free update for some users that all ready have windows 8.1.........


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Quote:
switching to LibreOffice, which has been significantly updated since it was forked from OpenOffice in 2010. Scott.



Have you gone to that website the libreoffice. I can't read it. I see that openoffice.org is still up. What is the diff between the two.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
LibreOffice is a fork of OpenOffice. When OO hit version 3.3, most of the developers left and restarted the project as LibreOffice. Thus LibreOffice 3.3 was essentially the same as OpenOffice 3.3 (they used the same open-source code). However since then LibreOffice has been significantly updated, while OpenOffice seems to have had less development overall. Here is a good article explaining some of the differences between them: http://www.datamation.com/applications/ ... ice-1.html

To view the LibreOffice site properly you should use a modern browser such as Firefox. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Quote:
To view the LibreOffice site properly you should use a modern browser such as Firefox. Scott.



For some reason now it the site view properly in IE9.0 yah..... What I did was click on the compatibility view and reload IE9 and went to the sit and it load......


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 989
Accent Professional is a multilingual word processor. Does LibreOffice offer a multilingual word processor as well?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
Maxirad wrote:
Accent Professional is a multilingual word processor.

From what I see Accent Software International ceased to exist around 1999, at which time their web site was taken over by another company offering completely different software. Posting a link to a nearly 20-year old review of long-since defunct software seems peculiar.

Quote:
Does LibreOffice offer a multilingual word processor as well?

Yes. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Just note that LibreOffice can open MS Works files. I use the program to convert to the more Industry Standard .doc (not .docx) format for the greatest chance of reading on many computer systems.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 989
Scott wrote:
Posting a link to a nearly 20-year old review of long-since defunct software seems peculiar.


Well, Scott, my dad bought Accent Professional software a while ago. However, I couldn't get it to install on one of my household's computers since a supplied registration number wasn't recognized.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
That must have been quite a while ago, but does explain it. Problems like that are one of the reasons that wherever possible I avoid using software that requires activation, registration or any other communications with the mfr. in order to function. Besides the general hassle, if the company disappears then what may have been a perfectly good and useful piece of software becomes useless. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 989
Scott, what do you think of Apache OpenOffice?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
I recommend LibreOffice instead. Both came from the same original OpenOffice.org code, however LibreOffice has been developed by many if not most of the programmers who wrote the original OpenOffice code plus it has had many more updates and enhancements. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:50 am
Posts: 508
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
The patience of Job. :D


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft works
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5902
Thanks for noticing. ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron