Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Hello Scott, I have a Lenovo desktop PC here with Windows 7 HP x64.

It had pre-installed Office 2010 Starter, sadly the HDD failed and I've replaced the drive and all is well except moving Office 2010 Starter.

Is it possible and legal to move Office 2010 Starter and if so what do I need to do?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5737
I'm not sure what you mean by "move". If you mean reinstall on the new HDD with your existing license (product key), then sure. You can download the media from Microsoft here: https://www2.downloadoffice2010.microso ... ntry_id=US

Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Thanks Scott and yes, I meant re-install on the new Drive.

I'll download and try that tomorrow.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
I was unable to obtain the key, so I used the factory restore on the old disk, then copied the image using minitool disk copier

http://download.cnet.com/MiniTool-Drive ... 06514.html

Office 2010 now works on the new Windows/Disk.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 6:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5737
Now that you have it installed again I would recommend using a keyfinder tool like Nirsoft ProduKey to retrieve the key so you can save it for the future. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
I did use a keyfinder (can't recall which brand right now) which has been able to get keys for Office 2010 Home and Student, but was unable to pull the key for this "starter" edition.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5737
Interesting, perhaps it is some sort of pre-activated setup that uses no key? I'd still be interested to see what Nirsoft ProduKey says about it. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Moving Office Starter 2010
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
When Office 2010 is started on PC's from this era, one is given a choice to buy, activate (existing licence) or use Starter. I think this system was only around for a year or less.

I'll see what Nirsoft reports tomorrow.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Windows OS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Maxirad and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: