Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:32 pm
Posts: 587
Hi Scott,

Despite both network card RJ-45 green LEDs turning ON when the cable is placed in a switch, NIC showing its working properly in Device Manager , no Conflicts, no previous Network drivers and/or any other drivers installed previously, testing CAT 6 cable with a known-good spare... The network icon on the system tray remains with a red cross.

PS: Other machines are working well on the same network!

-- Kit


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5787
Do the LEDs on the *switch* indicate that the cards are connected? If not, then replace the switch. Otherwise follow the steps in the articles I detailed here. Let me know what the problem and/or solution turns out to be. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:32 pm
Posts: 587
Thanks Scott,

Yes, the LEDs on the switch are indicating card connection and the switch is working well with other computers. I tried to change the cable to other ports on the switch, though that has not helped out. I've tried to restore the system to an earlier restore point and that has not helped out either. Currently, I'm trying to replace the NIC and I'll get back to you soon.

PS: I've sent this post without having first read through the link you have posted, though I tried Windows Network Diagnostics for XP eariler.

-- Kit


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:32 pm
Posts: 587
It was a NIC problem! When I replaced with a known-good spare, things worked out well!

-- Kit


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Maybe bit late now but have you considered that the IP/DNS address possibly set-up wrong?

Also seen NIC's that have some of the pins stuck down. On laptop's checking these pins can avoid a MB replacement if crucial.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NIC working, Cable OK...No network
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:32 pm
Posts: 587
Thanks David,

Problem solved!

-- Kit


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron