Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DSL+Cable+1 House+2 PCs = ?
 Post Posted: Tue May 12, 2009 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
I had someone ask me what would be the best way to connect his 2 computers to his 2 ISPs (1 is DLS and 1 is Cable). He currently has the following:
  1. DSL with Modem
  2. Cable with Modem
  3. No Router
  4. 1 Wired Desktop PC
  5. 1 Laptop (desires wireless connection)

I told him, at the very least, he would need a Wireless Router (to set up a LAN) but I wasn't sure if he could complete his goal without more hardware. Since most routers only have one WAN port what is the simplest way to have 2 ISPs connected to 1 LAN?

-Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: DSL+Cable+1 House+2 PCs = ?
 Post Posted: Tue May 12, 2009 11:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5796
The least expensive method would be to connect both modems to a dual WAN router like the Cisco RV042. You can see more information about that router here. Since that router doesn't have wireless capability (I don't know of any inexpensive ones that do), you could then add a wireless access point, or better yet, just get another wireless router and disable the router functionality to use it as an access point. What is interesting is that due to popularity and marketing you can purchase a full blown router/access point for about the same cost as an access point alone. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: DSL+Cable+1 House+2 PCs = ?
 Post Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 11:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5796
This has happened before, but this time I was unaware at the outset. Let me be clear: It is NOT OK to *use* me as a resource for answering questions on other forums (or anywhere publicly) under your own name. If somebody asks you a question and you don't know the answer, then either direct them here in the first place, or if you do get the answer from me, at least credit me as the source for the information, preferably with a direct link. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: DSL+Cable+1 House+2 PCs = ?
 Post Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Scott,

I have modified my original post. If you approve I will leave it as it currently is or I will delete out the content entirely and make reference to the deletion.

I'm very sorry for the way I went about this. I only meant to help. I wanted to get factual guidance, instead of misleading opinions.

If there is anything else I need to do, let me know.

-Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: DSL+Cable+1 House+2 PCs = ?
 Post Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 11:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5796
The credit is fine, thanks. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron