Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: increase dongle speeds
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 7:45 am
Posts: 235
Location: hedon, east yorkshire, england,
my mum has a (3) network (dongle) conected to her pc,

it was slow and disconected regularly, she lives in a (bungalow)
the software has recently been upgraded by 3,
i used a (10m belkin usb extension cable) to attach her dongle to
the rafters in her roof under the rooftiles,it is a lot faster now,

she does not get (hdspa) even though the 3 network website
say`s she should get this speed,when i checked the postcode,

can it be improved ? ( pentium d 920, 2gig kingston 667 ram,)
xp 32 bit ,usb ext cable plugged into ,usb2 back of motherboard,


http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=G31M-GS
thanks karl


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: increase dongle speeds
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5803
I don't know what a (3) network connection is (got a link?), but I'll assume it is some sort of wireless connection that uses the cellular telephone network. In that case you could try relocating the antenna such that it has a better "view" of the cell tower. Unfortunately beyond that it probably cannot be improved much. I'd recommend using a cable or DSL connection instead. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: increase dongle speeds
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 7:45 am
Posts: 235
Location: hedon, east yorkshire, england,
http://www.three.co.uk/Mobile_Broadband/Getting_started

my mum has the zte mf627
but they are all 3.6mbps

thanks anyway karl, and thanks for the quick response,
and input.

she is (happy) for what she uses it for,
facebook,messenger,to her family.

kindest regards karl@hull


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: increase dongle speeds
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Could try using a USB extension lead to make for a better signal??


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: increase dongle speeds
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Scott wrote:
I don't know what a (3) network connection is (got a link?), but I'll assume it is some sort of wireless connection that uses the cellular telephone network.
Your assumption is correct!

3 (or 3 UK) is the common name for Hutchison 3G UK Limited which is registered in England and Whales. They do use a 3G cellular telephone network (more here). 3's coverage
Image
seems to be similar to Verizon Wireless' coverage in the USA
Image.

Scott wrote:
In that case you could try relocating the antenna such that it has a better "view" of the cell tower.
Looks like 3 agrees.

-Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron