Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
Hello Scott and others,

Been asked to help with a Netgear cg814gcmr, I can't find a Netgear support page for this router!

Has http://portforward.com/ been taken over? They used to have helpful guides to erm port forward routers, yet it seems to be a pay site now! Perhaps I'm on the wrong site?

****Note that I think that site might be a scam, so prolly will try to give you Malwares***


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5825
What does Netgear have to say about it? Let me know what you find out. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:50 am
Posts: 508
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
David McMahon wrote:
....Been asked to help with a Netgear cg814gcmr, I can't find a Netgear support page for this router!....

This would make me not want to buy from Netgear. I actually found this router for sale in one of their 2009 business brochures.

Still traces on their forum.


Last edited by FascistNation on Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Is that End Of Life link you posted correct? I was greeted with "Page Not Found"...

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk England
http://www.netgear.com/eol

Just to rub the salt in the CG814GCMR is at the top!

I know of at least *1* router still in use, so why on earth has support been pulled? :twisted:

I also assumed that business class equipment had a longer support life than mere "consumer" equipment!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5825
Looks like it's time for a new router. A new one will cost less than the time wasted in trying to support one that isn't supported by the manufacturer. I've had good results with Linksys and D-Link myself. Currently I've been recommending the DIR-655. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Do you have a particular type of network you employ that particular D-Link in? I'm just wondering if you've found it to serve the small business customers or home users (or both) specifically. In my experience there is never a "universal" solution. Perhaps it is just the best "bang for the buck"?

Evan


Last edited by Evan on Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5825
Quote:
I'm just wondering if you've found it to server the small business customers or home users (or both) specifically.

Both of those. Almost nothing is universal, but this one is pretty close (for now). Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Until we start seeing a copious amount of *true* 802.11n certified (not *draft* versions) routers? Even better if they are "affordable". <g>

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5825
All I can say (from experience) is that right now the two most important things in an "n" router/access point is that it *doesn't* support 5GHz operation, and that it *does* have a gigabit WAN port. YMMV <g> Scott.

PS: If you have an internet connection of faster than 25Mbps, make sure your modem also has a gigabit WAN port...


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Quote:
...is that it *doesn't* support 5GHz operation...
What's wrong with 5GHz?

Quote:
...it *does* have a gigabit WAN port
Agreed, I wouldn't recommend anything else for a *new* purchase.

Quote:
PS: If you have an internet connection of faster than 25Mbps, make sure your modem also has a gigabit WAN port...
Another great point...that I've now made a mental note (and bookmark) of. It sounds like I need I need to double check what I pay my ISP for and what www.SpeedTest.net reports.

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1377
I've been using the D-Link Dir 655 for about 2 years now. It has served me well.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5825
Quote:
What's wrong with 5GHz?

I'm sure this will change in the future, but so far I haven't yet found a dual-band router that doesn't have problems maintaining a stable connection with a dual-band card. When in 5GHz range, the connection seems to constantly switch speeds and/or even bands, causing momentary bursts and lags which are unacceptable. Also the range using the 5GHz band is so bad it basically works only in the same room as the access point. None of this occurs when restricting the connection to only the 2.4GHz band. Because of this, I currently recommend single-band "n" routers (which means 2.4GHz), and prefer those with three external antennas for maximum range and performance. If or when dual-band router technology is perfected, I'll change my recommendation. <g> Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netgear cg814gcmr
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:50 am
Posts: 508
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Evan wrote:
Is that End Of Life link you posted correct? I was greeted with "Page Not Found"...

Evan


Thanks, fixed.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron