Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: wireless access point
 Post Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 68
Hello
I have an Edimax wireless router which I have my cable modem plugged into. I want to extend the wireless range so I purchased an Edimax wireless range extender/access point.
I can wirelessly connect my laptop to the AP and connect to the internet but the access point must be connected by cable to the router or I can't get the internet. Both the access point and the router are set to AP mode.

Perhaps the access point can only work if connectly by cable to the router. I thought it could connect wirelessley to the router so I can put it further away from my router and closer to my laptop.
The laptop settings are:-
IP 192.168.2.10
SN 255.255.255.0
GW 192.168.2.20 (this is my router's gateway address)
DNS 192.168.2.20 (this is my router's gateway address)

The access point's IP address is 192.168.2.1 and is configured as AP mode.
I want my Access point to be able to connect to the router wirelessly and my laptop to connect to the Access point and use the internet.
Thanks


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: wireless access point
 Post Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5848
An access point has to be wired to the network, however a range extender will receive and retransmit the signal wirelessly, thus extending the range with no wired connection required. I recommend you set the device as a range extender for it to accomplish what you want. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: wireless access point
 Post Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 1:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 68
Hello
Yes that worked. Thanks

I set the AP to Universal Repeating mode then I clicked the site survey button and saw my router's SSID so I then clicked connect. I then restarted the AP then unplugged it from the router and refreshed the wireless on the laptop and it connected!
I see I can use the laptop like this with DHCP and I don't need to configure a static IP for the laptop.

The range of the AP is 300m and the range of the router is 300m also, if I plug the AP into a power point 300m away from the router, and using universal repeating mode, then I plug in a laptop 300m away from the AP device I should still be able to get the internet, although the signal will probably be weak. But that extends my wireless internet (from the router) to 600m.

Thanks
Ford


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: