Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1396
Hey Scott, I just moved into a new apartment building in a city/urban area. While I was configuring my dir655 router I forgot that wireless is enabled by default!. I let it go like that for around 3-4 hours. I've since re-set the router to default, disabled wireless, enabled user and admin passwords, and set up open dns. I looked before I disabled and saw about 6 other lan connections, mostly android devices. I don't believe I have anything files or folders shared on the pc. Do I have anything to worry about?. I also did a full super antispyware scan and it just found cookies. Of course I have the normal windows firewall enabled. This is windows 7 pro pc.....


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1396
Should I be worried?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1396
Oh I did find one shared folder that just has some A+ stuff on it. They would also need my password to get into the file though right?. I would think most of the people "piggybacking" were just there to get some internet access real quick.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5880
It sounds like a few cellphones were using your wireless for an hour or so. As long as it is secure now I wouldn't be worried. Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1396
This cable internet seems much faster than my DSL I had at my old place, even though the DSL was supposedly 20 Mbps down. I'm paying for 15Mbps down with Time Warner and it just seems much much faster.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New setup forgot wireless was enabled!
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 405
Location: USA
Even though you are paying for less download speed you could be getting better speeds if any of the equipment operated by the previous ISP was working properly. Assuming you were using the same router before, you might have a better modem or even the cables before or after the demarcation point could be an issue. I've had all of those issues happen myself, all at the same house with the same ISP.

Evan


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: