Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dial up
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 68
Hello
I have a customer who wants to remain on dial up
I purchased them a new PC with windows 7 Pro
I have a USB fax modem with a Conexant chipset.
I let windows find the driver and it installed.
The connection works and authenticates and registers but no internet.
By the clock the network Icon has a yellow triangle over it, even when the connection is established.

Sometimes the yellow triangle disappears straight away and the internet works, but mostly I have to connect and disconnect the connection a couple of times for it to connect intitally.
On the times that the connection is established it does stay connected so the issue is when the connection is first established.

I thought it might be the driver so I installed the one on the CD disk but same problem
Its the yellow triangle that's stopping getting the internet, the connection itself works fine.

I did enter the DNS's for the ISP Vodafone, manually and tried the device on another pc.
I can use the same dial number at a different location and the same problem occurs there
I also tried another modem, but same problem.

Ford


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dial up
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5754
This sounds like a problem at the ISP. I would contact them for more information. Let me know what you find, Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dial up
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 68
Hello
I think that is my next step.
The customer advised that sometimes the same thing happened with her previous machine. If it didn't connect she would try again later and then it would connect.
Not sure why takes a couple of goes to establish the initial connection


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Dial up - update
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 68
I spoke with Vodafone who advised that the dialup network is degrading over time and its normal for it not to connect sometimes.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron