Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
I need to find a replacement because the one I have is no longer working the 1 2 3 4 5 ports don't light up only the power light lights up


what do you think of this one.

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/5 ... EasySmart/


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 2:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5896
I recommend TRENDnet switches instead. They have proven to be very reliable and have especially low power consumption: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833156259


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 6:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Scott wrote:
I recommend TRENDnet switches instead. They have proven to be very reliable and have especially low power consumption: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833156259



I was wondering about what is POE what is that good or bad for me to just to connect two computer to a dsl modem to the internet.

What is Manageable means and the one you recommend switches don't have it.

and the switch I have that went bad on me is the d-link DGS-2205 and I'm trying to find a match it up with a new one that this DGS-2205 has.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
I hope this is the same one that you said to get on from newegg.com website I order it from walmart. and I hopping it is the same one you said to get. I trust you. But I don't trust newegg.com website. so I found one on walmart.com.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/TRENDnet-5-Po ... h/23143565


What is the differents between unmanageable and manageable switch.
and I still want to know is POE is good or bad what does it do?

thanks.
spiderman


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
how this one match the one I order from walmart

what do you think of this one.
then the model you post above.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 2CP1T91338


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5896
spiderman wrote:
I was wondering about what is POE what is that good or bad for me to just to connect two computer to a dsl modem to the internet.

POE = Power Over Ethernet, it allows certain devices to be powered directly from the ethernet cable. Switches with POE are more expensive and would be used for certain devices on large business networks, not something generally for home or small business use.

Quote:
What is Manageable means and the one you recommend switches don't have it.

Managed switches allow for monitoring, traffic control and segmentation, which is desirable in large business networks for improved performance. As with POE, managed switches are much more expensive and would be used on large business networks.

The other links you posted from Walmart and Newegg show the same switch I recommended (TRENDnet TEG-S5g, but at a higher price (the link I posted currently shows $15.99 with free shipping). Why would you want to pay more for the same thing? Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d-link gigabit swtich
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 367
Quote:
The other links you posted from Walmart and Newegg show the same switch I recommended (TRENDnet TEG-S5g, but at a higher price (the link I posted currently shows $15.99 with free shipping). Why would you want to pay more for the same thing? Scott.


Report this post



If there was something is wrong with it that I can return it back to Walmart to get a refund.
I don't trust newegg as of yet. I don't know if this new switch is the same it don't look the same. I hope it going to be the new version 3.04 something like that.


the other thing I want to know My DSL modem has a built in router do I need to get a router to. All I use use the switch for is to connect two computers to the internet. The DSL modem say it has a built in router. The DSL modem is a GT701

Walmart or best buy or any other store I went to don't no longer carry DSL modems anymore. I'm at 7MPS. I'm thinking about switch over to Cable modem later.
but I'm good at this speed of 7mps I don't do much downloading or uploading big files and stuff like that.

http://www.actiontec.com/products/prod_ ... php?pid=70 on this dsl modem it only have one USb port and one Ethernet port that is why it said you can connect two computers to it...


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Network Hardware & Configuration


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron