Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
Hmmm...Although COM1 does show up under "hidden devices". I'll try uninstalling it and see what happens.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
Yep, uninstalling worked. It no longer shows up when I click on "Show hidden devices". Although there wasn't a problem with it. I believe it was just there from when it was enabled and the driver was still there. So because of that it showed up under "show hidden devices". Now that I uninstalled it and windows understands that it's disabled, it didn't try and reinstall it.

Windows and in particular Windows 10 does seem to need a lot of "babysitting". That's why I like imaging software. Right now I'm using Macrium Reflect Home edition, which is great in my opinion. Much better than Acronis, which used to be great 10-12 years ago but is now a bloated mess. I take an image backup when everything is the way I want it and nothing is "broken" in windows. That way I can always go back.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
I'm still requesting a replacement board though.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
They finally approved an RMA for the board. Now I've just got to order some anti-static bags for the motherboard, ram, and pci express sound card. Also ordered a cpu socket protector from Ebay because they require that when shipping the mb back. Also ordering a plastic little case thing to store the cpu while I wait for the replacement motherboard.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
So this board is still having problems regardless, keeping the serial port disabled. Even though it's disabled in the cmos, today it showed up in device manager again. Even though I had fast boot disabled in the cmos which I thought "fixed" it. So anyway I went back just to double check the cmos and saw that it was disabled. Shut down the pc completely and went back to device manager and it was gone again. So it's clearly messed up.

So I have never RMA'd a MB before as far as I can remember anyway...I believe since they approved my RMA, that once I ship it back, they will just look it over and make sure it doesn't have any physical damage and then ship me a replacement. Scott, in your experience is that how it works?.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:44 am
Posts: 5976
FatGuy wrote:
So I have never RMA'd a MB before as far as I can remember anyway...I believe since they approved my RMA, that once I ship it back, they will just look it over and make sure it doesn't have any physical damage and then ship me a replacement. Scott, in your experience is that how it works?.

When I RMA'd a GIGABYTE board in the past they simply shipped back the same board (I marked it in a hidden spot to be sure). I had to go through the process again to get a new one. So in the end the problem was resolved but it took two tries. ;) Scott.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
Well it did take them forever to finally agree to give me an RMA. It's not an expensive board so I don't see what the big deal is. So ok then I have the serial number written down, so that should be ok then right?. I'll just check to make sure the serial numbers don't match as soon as I get it back. Just don't want to install the board and build the pc again before I figure out it's the same board. Next time definitely it's gonna be an MSI board.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
I'm getting a new case for this motherboard. Hopefully they ship me a brand new MB anyway. This is the new case I ordered,

Image

RAIJINTEK AENEAS

I only have 3 system fan headers on my motherboard. I'm gonna be using a Noctua NF-A14 PWM 140mm Case Fan for the rear fan. The case comes with two rear 140mm fans. The bottom one looks like it would draw air out over any mechanical HDD or anything in the internal 3.5 or 2.5 bays. Since nothing will be going in those bays it makes sense to only install a top one really. For the front I don't believe I'll really need a fan. However I do have a Noctua NF-F12 which I can use for the front top one. I can remove the bottom front one. That way the air intake from the front will blow over the motherboard and out the back 140mm fan. I've also got the cpu fan which will blow air out the back.

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 33 CO 120mm Dual Ball Dynamic Bearing Semi Passive Tower CPU Cooler will be my new cpu cooler.

I won't be using the fans the come with it since they are only supposedly 2 pin fans. I'd rather take advantage of PWM.


Last edited by FatGuy on Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PC Build
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1562
Think I might get two of the Noctua NF-A14 fans. Either way I can only connect up to 3 fans to motherboard PWM 4 pin connections which I'd rather take advantage of then use the 2 pin fans that these cases come with. So I'd remove the bottom 120mm in the front, remove the top 120mm in front and replace it with the Noctua NF-F12. I think that would work out well anyway. Of course the two 140mm would be in the back.

Any comments on this Scott?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Upgrading and Repairing Forum » Desktop PC Hardware


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron